Learn from the Mistakes

Published: November 4, 2010

 

It was about 6 o’clock when we left from Benedicto College and hurriedly went to BTC. It was really a busy day when I needed to finish all the tasks and of course our weekly journal.  When we arrived in the school, our test papers were distributed. We reviewed our answers and some of the items to be clarified. I have learned from my mistakes in the test. I have realized the importance of discussing the answers after distributing them to the students.

Next, we did the activity using the whole language approach. We were divided according to the number of questions and had it discussed with in the group. I had used the Jigsaw response before, yet it was effective to most independent learners in Science High school. I had problem using this to the lazy students and had required me to become teacher- centered. Honestly, I have learned that we can use many techniques and variety of them under a specific approach.

Lastly, we discussed about morphology, morphemes and how English words change forms. How amazing the beauty of language is! Language is arbitrary and it is hard to explain how do they change and how do they exist- just exist and change.

Well, everyday has another lesson to apply in my class. I can share the techniques and the approaches to my ESL students. Especially, now I am handling Koreans. Learning is fun, if you know whom to share it with.

 

What do you think?

