Sample Assessment Test

 

Pre – assessment Test

Name :______ Grade: ____

I. GRAMMAR:

1. Fill in the blank:

 

 
 

I _____ a lot of homework.

a. have got

b. has got

c. is making

d. does have

     
     
     
     
     

 

2. Fill in the blank:
 
Are you the president of this company?

No, ______

A: I are a secretary.  
B: I am my employee.  
C: he is the president of them.  
D: I’m the secretary.  
E: I’ve the vice-president.  

 

3. Choose the CORRECT RESPONSE:
 
Aren’t they coming with us to the party?

______

A: No, they’re not coming.  
B: No, they are going with she.  
C: No, they are coming in the party later.  
D: Yes, they is coming with us.  
E: Yes, there coming.  

 

4. Fill in the blank:
 
______ tired from working so much?
 
A: Are you  
B: She’s  
C: Is  
D: You are  
E: Are she  
5. Choose the CORRECT QUESTION:
 
______?

I like football and cycling.

 

A: What sports do you like?
B: Do you like what kind of sports?
C: Sport what kind do you prefer?
D: Like you which kind of sport?
E: What kind sports do you like?

 

6. That’s the thing about Charlie even when things are really bad he doesn’t panic and keeps his cool.


(a)  stays calm

(b)  turns on the air conditioning

(c)  uses a fan

(d)  puts ice on his head

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. LISTENING: Circle the letter of your answer.

Answer Key :

 

1. A friend called Joanne
2. Watching TV
3. Hobbies
4. 10 am

 

 

A: “Hey Joanne. What are you up to?”
B: “I’m just watching some television.”
A: “I’m so bored. I don’t know what I’m going to do today and it is only ten in the morning.”
B: “Me too. Do you think we are boring people?”
A: “I don’t think we are boring. It’s just that we don’t have any hobbies.”
B: “That’s right. What do you think we should do as a hobby?”
A: “That all depends on what you like to do. For example, I like to doodle on the notepad, so I’m thinking about doing some real drawings.”
B: “I like to play the piano for fun.”
A: “Yeah. That can be a good hobby.”
B: “Hobbies are great. I’m going to make a list of all the things I like to do.”
A: “That’s a great idea. I’m going to do the same.”

  1. Which of the following statement is true?
    a. Joanne called a friend
    A friend called Joanne
    Joanne is playing the piano
    Joanne is drawing now

    8. What is Joanne doing?
    Running
    Watching TV
    Painting
    Sleeping

    9. What is the topic of discussion?
    Movies
    Surfing
    Computer
    Hobbies

    10. What time of day is the conversation taking place?
    8 am
    10 am
    8 pm
    10 pm

  1. Speaking / Pronunciations:

11. Read this passage aloud:

Sadie’s Broken Heart

Sadie is a beautiful black swan who lives on the pond with Prince Bertie the Frog. She finds a crown and puts it on her elegant head. Prince Boris sees her, and believes that she is a princess who has been turned into a swan – in the same way that Prince Bertie was turned into a frog.

12. Choose among the topics below and tell me what you know about the topic for one minute.

a. The Person I will never Forget

b. My Parents

c. My favorite…

IV.Reading Comprehension:

Mary has a lot of hobbies and interests. She usually gets up early so she can run before work. She doesn’t often have time to ski, but she occasionally goes on Saturdays during the winter. Mary often rides a horse at a stable near here home. She sometimes goes after work, but she usually goes horseback riding on Sundays. She loves music. She always goes to choir practice on Wednesday evenings and sings in church on Sundays. She doesn’t have much extra money, so she rarely goes to concerts in the city. She seldom watches TV because she likes doing things outside. She usually goes to the gym if it’s raining outside. She isn’t often alone because she has a lot of friends. She occasionally does something alone, but she usually does her activities with one of her friends. She’s a happy woman!

14. Why does she usually get up early?

She gets up early to run before work.
She gets up early to go to work.
She gets up early to have breakfast.

15. How often does she ski?

She often skis.
She occasionally skis in winter.
She rarely skis in winter.

  1. WRITING:

Tell me about yourself. Write at least 5 sentences.

What do you think?

