Report on Teaching Practicum

Cebu Graduate School of Technology March 2011
TESOL 2 Maricel M. Celmar
Mary C. Larsen Grade: _____
Report on Teaching Practicum
1. Teaching Context
I teach an English to 8 students every Saturday for two-three hours in my house, in Mayupay Quiot Pardo Cebu City. I gathered them here during their free time every Saturdays. They consist of variety of ages and educational levels. Four of them are college students (three DevCom and one engineering) and two of them are high school students and one is a working professional. They are all motivated to learn. Some wish to learn to improve their English Skills for it is very helpful for their studies. I have taught the class since February 12, 2011 and completed ten sessions in March 5, 2011.

2.Challenged Faces:
I teach an English to 8 students every Saturday for two-three hours in my house, in Mayupay Quiot Pardo Cebu City. I gathered them here during their free time every Saturdays. They consist of variety of ages, and educational levels. Four of them are college students (three DevCom and one engineering) and two of them are high school students and one is a working professional. They are all motivated to learn. Some wish to learn to improve their English Skills for it is very helpful for their studies. I have taught the class since February 12, 2011 and completed ten sessions in March 5, 2011. 2.Challenged Faces: The educational levels of my class vary. Most of them are college students who have difficulty in attending the class due to school activities. I am struggling on how to organize the group since they had important matters to attend to. However, after teaching them, I find them interested to learn. I am conscious on how to contextualize, communicative and balanced, so it will suit on the needs of the students. I understand that their motivations help them to learn because they find English as necessary in their future profession. The greatest challenge I face, however was to meet the goals for ten sessions and to organize and gather the group. Well, they were obviously busy students in college. I am more on communicative and task-based side in my English training. I tried my best to integrate all the skills for ten sessions to have variation in teaching. I focus on the syllabus as my guide on what to do in the class. I was more on conversational and task-focused. I want them be more comfortable in the class, so they can express their selves better It was important for me that they try to speak English. I use games, music and jokes to lower the affective filter. In this way, it will foster more interactive and relaxed class. Actually, I have no problem in monitoring them because they accept corrections and they show willingness to learn from their mistake. Despite of difficulty I go through, I never give up and still continue teaching them though a lot of students who were absent.
3. Approach Taken:
Here is my syllabus for the ten-hour practice:
Lesson Guidelines for Ten hours – Practicum (8:am – 12nn)
DAY

LESSONS
1

Getting to know each other Conversation class (picture talk) Assessment Test Listening Exercise (I Miss You like Crazy) Grammar lesson (Verb)
2

Games about Verbs (Charades) Grammar (Subject – Verb) listening exercises/pronunciations (vowels minimal pairs) Speech drills conversation activity/ dialog
3

Speaking practice: Presentations of dialog group activity (Buy and sell – role play) Reading Activity (Task Based or Suggestopedia)
4

Writing Skills (Purpose: Narrate experiences in the class) Reflective activity Speaking Activity: Talk about what they write.
5

Review all the lessons through a game. Listening, speaking, grammar and writing Post Assessment Test Viewing skills: Movie

On the first day, I had given them an English assessment test that covers all areas of English: Grammar, listening skills, reading comprehension skills, speaking and writing. I have discovered that most of them got a high score in the assessment in grammar, listening and reading. Therefore, I find my assessment easy for their level. However, in their speaking skills, they need to work on their communication skills. They were very shy to start-up the conversation. They need to brush up on their pronunciations, intonation, stress and accents. I have realized that I need to encourage them to speak in the class. Because of this problem, I focus on my class as conversational as possible to practice fluency and check their accuracy. After the assessment test, we had a fifteen minutes break with free snacks. Later on, while eating the snacks, I took this situation as an opportunity to practice conversation skills. I gave them a rolled tissue paper. Next, I told them to get as many tissue papers they like. Then, we start the game. Finally, they have to introduce their selves. They have to tell everybody about the things that make them interesting. They were enjoying the process of talking about themselves. After introducing their selves, we started the class again with the listening exercise. I gave them short discussions and some tips on how to listen well. Then, I used a Bipod tablet to play the audio file.

I handed them out the answer sheets: lyrics of the song, which has some missing words. In fact, all of them got the passing score. However, they needed more practice because they got distracted easily. Aside from that, the music volume was very low for them to hear. At least, they enjoyed the process of learning. They participated on the first day.
Let us take a look at the next session of the class. Here, we focused on American accent training and Speech practice. They find the class interesting when they concentrated on how to speak fluently. I started up the class with a short conversation and overview of the topic. Then, we had a lessons in intonations, word stress and word connection. After having the lessons, we did an exciting activity. I let them read the passage applying all the skills that they had learned as I mentioned above. Furthermore, we did have the speech laboratory.
I rented computers for them. I let them listen to the sites such as http://www.rachelenglish.com. To practice American accents using the imitation techniques. Subsequently, I let them listen to http://www.talkenglish.com for listening skills. They were enjoying the American / pronunciation training. After the speech laboratory exercises, I introduced them on how carry out a conversational and some techniques in conversation skills: striking up a conversation, heading up the conversation and closing the conversation. I was so happy because they were confident to speak to practice fluency. When the class was over, they still enjoyed speaking the language even outside.
Our last session lasted for three hours. We had a review about the previous lessons. This time I focus on reading skills. I used the independent reading, guided reading and silent reading techniques. I let them read about the biography of Queen Elizabeth silently. Afterward, we discussed the paragraphs thoroughly by having them each. Later on, each of them gives a very good summary of Queen Elizabeth’s life. After reading, I let them watched the video entitled “ Elizabeth”. It depicts the life of Queen Elizabeth on how a woman became a leader and who sacrificed her life for her people and country. It seems they were enjoying the film showing because they had a lot of things to write on their summary. Finally, we had writing lessons. I gave them the guide format on how to write simple essay about the film.
After that, I assessed their competence in English skills. I gave them the post English communication assessment: grammar, listening, reading, speech and speaking skills. To summarize the result of the assessment, it shows that their scores are unreliable because only one student finished the ten sessions. Therefore, ten-hour sessions are not enough for them to learn all the skills. They have to keep on learning English in their individual classrooms. Learning English takes lifetime learning.


1.Evaluation: Strengths and Weakness
There are some uncontrollable circumstances. Like, they couldn’t focus in the class due to their school activities. I think, I should have got some out of school youths instead or maybe started my practice teaching earlier like during holidays. Also, I know that the class was exciting for them.
Finally, I have realized the important thing is to never give up. I did continue the classes even I have only one student. I made a certain arrangements during their free time. Even we were outside the class, I encouraged them to talk with their peers in English. It was awkward at first but for them it was rewarding. I did check their grammar with kindness and discuss their error in the class, so we will know how to work it on.
Therefore, flexibility to adjust from various situations is what I need in this kind of class situation. Though, I have guidelines or planned to carry out in the class but it is not the way you expected it to happen. Sometimes, I need creativity on how to carry out the plan and try something new to meet the goals of the day.

What do you think?

